Midlothian Council

## **Declaration of Results**

This report is the Declaration of Results script for Returning Officer.

**Contest Name** 

Ward 2 - Bonnyrigg

I will now declare the result of the election in the Ward 2 - Bonnyrigg. There are 3 Councillors to be elected.

The electorate was 14,239 and the number of ballot papers received was 6,073 giving a percentage turnout of 42.7%. There were 57 rejected ballot papers. The quota of votes for a candidate to be elected was 1,505.

The number of first preference votes for each of the candidates was:

Candidate Name	Affiliation	Number of First Preference Votes
Dianne ALEXANDER	Scottish National Party (SNP)	2,117
Daya FELDWICK	Scottish Green Party	459
Derek MILLIGAN	Scottish Labour Party	2,428
David VIRGO	Scottish Conservative and Unionist	1,012
	Total	6,016

After application of the Election Rules, I declare that the following are elected as Councillors for the Ward 2 - Bonnyrigg:

Candidate Name	Affiliation	Stage at which Candidate was Elected
Dianne ALEXANDER	Scottish National Party (SNP)	1
Derek MILLIGAN	Scottish Labour Party	1
David VIRGO	Scottish Conservative and Unionist	4

## Midlothian Council

## **Declaration of Results**

## This report is the Declaration of Results script for Returning Officer.

Of the total ballot papers, the following were rejected and not counted on account of:

2011 Order Rule 44(1)	Adjudication Rejection Reason	Number
(a)	Which does not bear a unique identifying mark in a form that is capable of being read by electronic means	0
(b)	On which a number standing alone is not placed so as to indicate a first preference for some candidate	8
(c)	On which the figure "1" standing alone indicating a first preference is set opposite the name of more than one candidate	35
(d)	On which anything is written or marked by which the voter can be identified except the printed number and other unique identifying mark on the back	0
(e)	Which is unmarked or void for uncertainty	14
	Total	57