2016 Scottish Parliament Election results

The Scottish Parliament elections took place on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Midlothian North & Musselburgh County Constituency

Colin Beattie, of the Scottish National Party, was re-elected as the member to serve the Midlothian North & Musselburgh County Constituency.

Full results
Name Party Votes
Jeremy Balfour Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party    6,267
Colin Beattie Scottish National Party  16,948
Jacquie Bell Scottish Liberal Democrats    1,557
Bernard Harkins Scottish Labour Party    9,913
  Ballot papers rejected       140

Of the 140 ballot papers rejected:

  • Want of official mark - 2
  • Voting for more than one candidate - 12
  • Writing or mark by which voter could be identified - 0
  • Unmarked or void for uncertainty - 126

Midlothian South, Lauderdale & Tweeddale Constituency

Christine Grahame, of the Scottish National Party, was re-elected to serve as the Member of the Scottish Parliament (MSP) for the Midlothian South, Lauderdale & Tweeddale Constituency.

Lothians Regional List MSPs

The seven MSPs elected to serve the Lothians Region are:

  • Miles Briggs (Conservative)
  • Alison Johnstone (Green)
  • Kezia Dugdale (Labour)
  • Gordon Lindhurst (Conservative)
  • Neil Findlay (Labour)
  • Jeremy Balfour (Conservative)
  • Andy Wightman (Green)

For the full Lothians results