Skip to content
You are here: Home | MHSCP | Who we are

Who we are

The Midlothian Health and Social Care Partnership delivers the services that help you live well and get support when you need it. This includes all community health and social care services for adults in Midlothian and some hospital-based services.

We work in partnership with many voluntary and independent providers. 

The Midlothian Integration Joint Board (IJB) is made up of representatives from NHS Lothian, Midlothian Council, the Third and Independent sectors and people who use health and social care services. It is responsible for:

  • Planning and allocating resources for our work
  • Making sure that everyone has equal opportunities to access our services. Read Our Equality Outcomes (PDF).

The IJB follows a Code of Corporate Governance (PDF) and all members follow a Code of Conduct (PDF). 

You can find out when the IJB meets and the minutes of previous meetings. Other documents about our Governance, our Integration Scheme and our Publication Scheme.

The IJB directs NHS Lothian and Midlothian Council to provide services related to the following:

NHS Lothian is responsible for

  • Unscheduled care in hospitals (e.g. A&E, Minor Injuries, Acute wards). 
  • Community health services (e.g. GPs, district nurses, dentists, pharmacists, mental health services and the Community Hospital). 
  • Health visiting and school nurses. Links between adult and children’s services are important, but strategic planning for children’s services remains the responsibility of the Getting it Right for Every Midlothian Child group

Midlothian Council is responsible for

  • Adult Health and Social Care (e.g. social work, day services, care at home, allied health professionals).
  • Services for offenders to address the health and care needs that may be the root causes of offending. However reducing offending remains the remit of the Community Justice and Safety Partnership.


You can read the 2021/22 IJB's audited accounts (PDF)


Work with us

A wide range of people work to deliver the services we provide. Find out more on our 'work with us' page.