Election of Provost and other office bearers

Councillor Adam Montgomery (Scottish Labour) has been elected today (Tuesday 23 May) as the new Provost of Midlothian.

Other office bearers

At the first meeting of Midlothian Council following local elections on 4 May, the new council also elected the following office bearers:

Depute Provost: Councillor Margot Russell; Council Leader: Councillor Derek Milligan, and Depute Council Leader: Councillor Jim Muirhead. All three are Scottish Labour Party councillors.

Party groups

Of the 18 councillors elected on 4 May, 7 are Scottish Labour, 6 are SNP and 5 Scottish Conservative.

23 May 2017