Local sport stars honoured at Midlothian Sports Awards 2017

Midlothian Sports Awards 2017 winners at Lasswade High School 271017

Bonnyrigg Rose legend Ian Richardson was honoured at the 2017 Midlothian Sports Awards, staged at Lasswade High School, on Friday night (27 October). 

Involved in the junior side since 1968, Ian was presented with the Services to Local Sport award at the ceremony.  His almost 50 year association with ‘The Rosey Posey’ has seen him move from coaching to the running of the club.

Over 40 years of devotion to local sport

Dalkeith Thistle Community coach Thomas Yuill, who has been instrumental in growing the club's girls teams, and Jane Carmichael, who has devoted over 40 years to developing hockey in Midlothian, were also commended in the Service to Local Sport category. 

Other winners on the night included athlete Natalie Milne who was crowned Senior Sports Personality of the Year.  Milne enjoyed a fantastic 2016, picking up both the Scottish Sprint Triathlon Championship and Scottish Aquathon Championship, the latter of which she retained earlier this year. 

Despite two serious injuries, Natalie also remains on course to qualify as an individual triathlete for Scotland at the Commonwealth Games in Australia next year.   

Highly commended    

Caitlin O’Brian (Trampolining) and Michael Kear (Para-skiing) were also highly commended for performances in their respective sports in the Senior Personality category. 

The Junior Sports Personality of the Year went to Joe Seez for his achievements in Archery.  Competing for Penicuik Archery, Joe has recently won both the indoor and outdoor Scottish Junior Championships and is also the current under 16 British Champion. 

Cameron Duff (Karate), Hannah Darling (Golf) and Ross Beattie (Diving) were also highly commended for their achievements in the Junior Personality section. 

Team work pays off

The Lothian Special Olympics Team picked up the Senior Team of the Year award after a highly successful Special Olympics GB National Summer Games in Sheffield which saw the team win 27 Gold, 16 Silver and 19 Bronze medals.

The Junior Team of the Year went to the Elite Taekwondo Junior Squad who have also enjoyed a fantastic competitive season, representing Scotland at the Irish Open, the Scottish Open and the British Championships, picking up 11 gold medals, 10 silver and 11 bronze along the way.  The team are currently competing at the World Championships in Ireland.

Coaches and volunteers praised

Other winners on the night included Lasswade Gymnastics’ Rachael Purves who was named Coach of the Year while Lynne Sturgeon was commended for her work in Disability Sport.  Catherine Devine and Stuart Dutton were also commended for their coaching work with the successful Elite Taekwondo teams. 

Teacher Enrique Castillo picked up the Volunteer of the Year award for his contribution to sports clubs at Lawfield Primary School with Erin Shanks being highly commended.  A talented dancer herself, Erin runs the S2 Dance Club at Beeslack High School where she is also a pupil. 

The Provost, Councillor Adam Montgomery, who presented the awards on the night, said:

“Congratulations to all the winners and those who received commendations at this year’s Midlothian Sports Awards – it was great to hear each of their inspiring stories.  The number of sporting achievements in the county, across a wide variety of sports, is absolutely fantastic.  

“The awards are a great way to celebrate the diverse sporting talent we have in Midlothian while also recognising the dedication of the coaches and volunteers who help make these sporting dreams become a reality.”

30 Oct 2017